How to Reset MacBook Pro

When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

How to Reset MacBook Pro – Overview

If you want to sell or trade-in your old MacBook Pro, you’ll need to clear your data from the device. The easiest method to do this is via a factory reset.

Of course, that is not the reason you utilize the MacBook Pro’s self-wiping feature. You could also be looking to free up some precious iCloud space.

Whatever it is, knowing how to factory reset your MacBook Pro is quite important, especially if it’s an old iPad, iPhone, or MacBook. Here’s what you need to know.

What Should You Do Before Resetting Your MacBook Pro

When you reset your MacBook Pro to factory settings, it will delete all your files, profiles, settings, and other data. So you must back up any vital data on an external drive.

Deauthorize Apple Music or iTunes

To deauthorize Apple Music or iTunes:

  1. Launch your Apple Music or iTunes app.
  2. From the menu bar at the top of your screen, click ‘Account,’ ‘Authorizations,’ and finally, ‘Deauthorize this Computer.’
  3. Enter your Apple ID and click on ‘Deauthorize.’

Sign Out of iCloud

To sign out of iCloud, click on the Apple logo in the top-left corner of your screen and click on ‘System Preferences. Then click on ‘Apple ID,’ click on ‘Overview’ in the left-hand sidebar, and finally click on ‘Sign Out.’

Sign Out of Messages

Launch the application and click ‘Messages’ in the menu at the top of your screen to sign out of messages. Next, select ‘Preferences’ and click the ‘iMessage’ tab.

Next, choose the account you want to sign out of and click ‘Sign Out.’ Then, finally, click on ‘Sign Out’ again on the dialogue box that appears on your screen.

Unpair Bluetooth Devices

To unpair Bluetooth devices, head to ‘System Preferences’ and click on ‘Bluetooth.’ Next, right-click the device you want to unpair and click ‘Remove’ from the pop-up menu.

Reset NV-RAM or P-RAM

Reset NV-RAM (Non-Volatile Random Access Memory) for newer Macs and P-RAM (Parameter Random Access Memory) for older Macs; this will erase user settings and restore security defaults.

As you switch on your MacBook, press and hold ‘Command + Option + P + R keys, and release them after about 20 seconds.

If you have a MacBook Pro with the Apple T2 security chip, release the keys after the Apple logo appears and disappears twice.

MacBook Pro Reset Process

  1. Restart your MacBook: To do this, click on the Apple logo in the top left corner of your screen and select ‘Restart.’ Since you’re resetting it, ensure it’s connected to power.
  2. Press and hold Command + R at the same time
  3. Now the Apple logo will appear
  4. Next, click on Disc Utility and then click on Continue.
  5. In the Disk, Utility tab, click on ‘View.’
  6. Next, click on Show All Devices. Now you’ll see the View button in the upper-left corner of your screen. Once you press this button, a drop-down menu will appear.
  7. Choose the drive you want to erase. In most instances, you want to clear the entire disk, the topmost option on the internal list. This will ensure all your old data is clear so you can Install Mac OS (Macintosh operating system) on a clean drive.
  8. Then click on Erase. This is the button at the top of the Disk Utility tab.
  9. Next, enter your MacBook name and choose your format and scheme.
  10. Then click on Erase. You will see this option in the lower-right corner of the pop-up window. Next, if you see the ‘Erase Volume Group‘, click on it. Note that this differs from the Delete Volume Group option, which you should not press.
  11. Next, click on Disk Utility.
  12. Click on Quit Disk Utility.
  13. Choose Reinstall macOS, click Continue, then click Continue again.
  14. Next, click ‘Agree’ and then ‘Agree’ again.
  15. Choose your boot disk; this is the main drive, so don’t pick an external HDD.
  16. Next, click on Continue.
  17. Wait for a couple of minutes for the installation process to be done. This might take several minutes, depending on the speed of your PC and your Wi-Fi connection.
  18. Once the installation is done, simultaneously press Command + Q on your keyboard. When you see Select your Country or Region, you will know the installation is done.
  19. Finally, click Shut Down.

Final Thought

To sum it all up, you’ve reset your MacBook Pro, and you can disconnect it from power and close the lid. When you give the device to someone else, they can commence the setup process and enter their information and preferences.

See Also

How to Update Macbook Pro

Which is Better Macbook Pro or Air

How to Copy Paste on Macbook Pro

Best Webcams for Mac

How to Reset Amazon Alexa

How to Reset Google Wifi Router

How to Reset a Wifi Router

How to Reset Chromebook