How to Reset Google WIFI Router?
If you are using a Google WIFI router, then you may find that you need to reset it at some point.
Perhaps you would like to change the WIFI password but cannot log into the router, or you just want to return it.
Here is a step-by-step guide on how to reset any Google WIFI router safely as recommended by the manufacturer.
How to Reset Google WIFI Router – Getting Started
Make Sure the Router is Powered and Online
You cannot reset the router if it is not plugged in and turned on. Make sure the router is plugged into a power outlet and fully turned on before you attempt to reset it.
You can tell the status of the router by the light strip at the center.
- No light means the router is probably not plugged into a power outlet. You could also have disabled or dimmed the light indicator from the Google Home app.
- Intermittent white light means the router is powering up. Give it a few seconds to fully boot up before you attempt to reset it.
- Stable white light means the device is on and working properly.
- The device will show a yellow light when it is resetting.
- Red light means the router has a critical error and probably needs to be reset.
You can also check if the router is on through the Nest app. Open the app on your device and see if the router is showing up on the active device list.
If you had already set up the router, you can also see if the WIFI network is visible on the network list.
Resetting the Router (2 Methods)
There are two easy ways you can reset your Google router. You can reset it using the reset button on the router or using the Google Home app.
The first method is the easiest and can be helpful if the router is inaccessible through the network and cannot be seen on the Home app.
Both methods will wipe the router clean and get rid of your settings. However, using the app will ensure that all your data is erased and the router removed from the device list.
You may have to manually remove the router from the device list if you use the hardware reset option. Google will also delete usage data collected from the router after six months.
Method 1- Use the Hardware Reset Button
This method involves pressing a physical button to reset the router. The reset button is located at the bottom of the Google WIFI router and is usually the only button there.
After you’ve made sure that the router is powered and on standby, locate the reset button and press and hold it for about ten seconds.
Pressing and holding the physical reset button will turn the router’s indicator yellow. This indicates that the router has detected that you want to do a factory reset.
Wait until the yellow light stops flashing and turns solid yellow before you release the reset button. However, be careful not to hold the button for more than ten seconds as this will prevent the router from resetting.
If you inadvertently exceed the ten seconds, then you will need to unplug the router, plug it back and wait for at least a minute before retrying.
Wait for the router to complete the reset process. It should take approximately ten minutes for the reset process to complete.
The light indicator will pulse white to indicate that the device is in its factory setting and ready to be set up.
Method 2- Reset the Router Using the Home App
This method is recommended because it not only wipes the router but also removes it from the device list and erases its data from Google cloud storage.
However, you can only use the app if the router is still functioning properly and connected to the app through the network.
Resetting your Google WIFI router from the Home app is a straightforward process.
- Open the Google Home app on your smartphone or tablet.
- Find the WIFI router on the list of devices and tap on it. Tap on “settings”.
- Located the option labeled “Factory reset WIFI point and tap on it then choose “factory to reset”. The app will ask you if you are sure. Tap yes to initiate the reset process. The router indicator will turn solid yellow until the reset process is complete.
Make sure you have kept a physical backup of your router settings before you attempt a factory reset on your router. A factory reset will wipe all your data and return the router to its default settings.